Johanna Chase
Songs COvered on 88 Keys



Johanna Chase, a Seattle-born singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, has toured several times nationally and regionally (Pretty Kind of Off White Tour 2006, TMJ Tour 2008, I Heart People Tour 2011), and is a seasoned veteran to the indie and grass roots music scene on the West Coast. Opening for Noah Gundersen, Aaron Sprinkle, Barcelona, David Bazan, Robert DeLong and Allen Stone to name a few, Johanna's earlier folk/rock song writing came from her Northwest roots. Her career beginnings have led her to play in notable venues across the country with other up and coming artists as well as collaborating with Huit Kilos (Ricardo Lemvo), Joey Ryan (Milk Carton Kids), Robert DeLong (Glassnote Records), and Z the Band (Nas). Her latest studio record "#<3" was produced by Roger Greenawalt (Ben Kweller, Rhett Miller, Nelly McKay, Rufus Wainwright, Afro-Jersey) in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

She has released and funded five full length records since 2002, followed by the I Heart People Tour (2011), her travels to SXSW (2012) and her 6th studio record "#<3" (2013) through support of her fans and collaborators through online outlets such as The Los Angeles Times spotlighted Johanna in their review of The Laramie Project: 10 Years Later for her live scoring, and likened Chase’s voice to Judy Collins. Audience members Jane Lynch, SIA, and Lily Tomlin all applauded Chase's instrumental role in the Laramie Project. In the fall of 2015 she underscored the SOLD OUT and Triple Extended Ike Holter play, "Hit The Wall", at the L.A. Gay and Lesbian Center, playing original songs written by Anna Woronker and Charlotte Chaffey.

Johanna has been working on a few projects yet to be released. However, she will be releasing a special covers album called "Songs Covered on 88 Keys", in August 2018. In this project she covers the breakout album of prominent indie electro-pop duo, Sylvan Esso, in Chase's own stripped down vocal and piano arrangements of the entire record.


Original Songwriting: Sylvan Esso
Arranging, Piano, and Vocals: Johanna Chase
Tracking, Mixing, Mastering: George Wiederkehr, Mosaic Studios, Pasadena CA, 2018